AbstractsLanguage, Literature & Linguistics


by Nicole Portley

Institution: University of Oregon
Year: 2015
Keywords: music composition; orchestra; tone poem
Posted: 02/05/2017
Record ID: 2066795
Full text PDF: http://hdl.handle.net/1794/19205


'Transformations' is a three-movement work that is approximately 17'30' in duration and is scored for full orchestra. The piece is a tone poem and employs extended tonal pitch content. Each of the three movements is based upon a cell of planing intervals: the cell of I. Molto Moderato consists of two parallel fifths played by the double basses; the cell of II. Adagio is three intervals (a seventh, third, and fourth) sounded first by the violins; and the cell of III. Allegretto is four intervals (a sixth followed by three fourths) played by the bassoons, violas, and double basses. The planing motifs, which evoke both medieval and contemporary popular styles, recur throughout the piece with varied pitch content (including inversions) and in a variety of orchestrations (e.g. in 'transformations,' as implied by the title). Advisors/Committee Members: Kyr, Robert (advisor).